Difference Between Click To Open Rate Vs Click Through Rate (CTOR vs. CTR)
But, is there any way to analyze how successful your campaigns have been?
The Email Marketers generally bank upon the click-through rate (CTR) to measure the efficiency of any marketing campaign. However, before reaching any kind of conclusion we must brief ourselves with another term click-to-open rate (CTOR) which is no less important.
Well, everyone goes by the number & statistics and two phenomenal metric tools in the world of Email marketing can measure the degree of effectiveness your ad campaigns have shown.
In our blog, we will define, analyze and compare the aforesaid metrics – Click to Open Rate (CTOR) and Click Through Rate (CTR).
Click To Open Rate (CTOR) and Click Through Rate (CTR) are the two terminologies that have a hairline difference but yes it does matter. Let’s try to understand them by their definitions-
Click To Open Rate (CTOR)
CTOR is a clear measure of up-to what extent an email message has been able to influence and raise the recipient’s interest so that they wanted to learn about the email content. Hence, here unique opens and unique clicks are the two parameters that are been compared to reach CTOR statistics. In short, it is a pure content-based metrics and measures its impact.
Click-Through Rate (CTR)
CTR relates to the relevance of your campaign. It helps you to measure the effectiveness of the keywords and the strategy of your email advertisements. It is a ratio of the number of clicks for your email ad campaign as a numerator and its display frequency as the denominator.
Ctr vs Ctor Email Marketing Percentage-wise,
CTOR = Number of Unique Clicks X 100
Number of Unique Opens
CTR = Number of Clicks X 100
Frequency of Advertisement
For Instance, you have two ad campaigns say X and Y. You have to find out which one has a better success rate.
You send both the email ad campaigns to 100 recipients each ( Please note that we consider no bounce and a 100 % delivery i.e. all 200 emails were delivered successfully ).
Performance of Email campaign X –
- Total emails sent or Frequency = 100
- Number of Emails Opened = 10
- Number of Emails Clicked = 5
Hence, CTOR = (5/10) X 100 = 50%
CTR = (5/100) X 100 = 5%
Performance of Email campaign Y –
- Total emails sent or Frequency = 100
- Number of Emails Opened = 50
- Number of Emails Clicked = 10
CTOR = (10/50) X 100 = 20%
CTR = (10/100) X 100 = 10%
|Campaign X||Campaign Y|
CTR for Campaign Y is higher than that of Campaign X. Will you rate Campaign Y to be more successful? No definitely not! Each action on your mail page accounts for the statistics of CTR – keyword, subject line, time the email was relayed, the sender. Whereas, the CTOR goes only by the number of emails that were opened driven by the content. What matters is only the content part, and the subject or field or anything else is worthless here. A pure measure of the content impact, rather than a rigid measure.
If your effectiveness barometer considers content as the prime element, then you must have a look at the two important concepts and their applicability.
- On average email open rate is between 18% – 28%.
- On average email click-through rate may lies between 5% to 18%
Which is More Relevant?
Well, I believe that both CTR or CTOR is the performance metrics for ad campaigns, but they are measuring two entirely different things. An email is a concatenation of many aspects such as subject line, its sender, the time it is being sent, the keyword it carries, etc, etc and CTR takes into account all these factors for calculation (which cannot be overlooked in any email marketing strategy). CTOR on the contrary focuses only on the content of the email. It will project how great the content is, does it appear impressive to the reader?
I hope that I have made a successful attempt to make you understand the importance of both the valuable metric tools. You must consider both CTR and CTOR to get a clearer picture of your email marketing. They are the guiding tools indeed.
A few important aspects that an email marketer must try for
- Your emails reach the intended recipient
- It should be interesting enough to get opened with Proper Title
- It must be content-rich for a click-through
- And this is important means you always use high-quality email services like getresponse the try to maintain the highest delivery rate in the industry.
Hope these points will help you to carry out a successful email marketing campaign and attract more and more traffic because opening the email and getting click-through are both important.
I assure you if you can have a command on these, nobody can stop your emails to get opened and get clicked through!